Solomon Islands student journalists scoop prestigious awards

MASI President Charles Kadaman with two award winners, Rosalie Nongebatu and Elizabeth Osifelo.

Solomon Islands Journalism students at the University of the South Pacific have wrapped up the 2018 academic year scooping half of the prestigious prizes presented during last Friday night’s Journalism Student Awards Night at Laucala campus, Fiji.

Of the fourteen categories, Solomon Islanders laid their hands on 6 awards and the other Pacific countries shared the rest.

Elizabeth Osifelo won the 2018 Fiji USP Journalism Tanoa Award for the most outstanding student and Rosalie Nongebatu scooped the Fiji Times Story board award for best Regional Reporting and Communication Fiji LTD Best Radio award.

Mr. Jared Koli received the Best Mobile Journalism Documentary while the National Broadcaster’s news reporter Fredrick Kusu received the FijiLive Most Promising First Year Student Award.

Second year student, Sharon Nanau was awarded the Fiji Television Limited Best Television Student Award and Chris Ha’arabe also scraped out a separate award.

Meanwhile President of the Media Association of Solomon Islands, MASI, Mr. Charles Kadamana was at hand to witness and congratulate our local students in last night’s ceremony.

Mr Kadamana said, to witness young Solomon Islanders wining regional awards at last night’s USP Journalism Awards was gratifying.

This he added means the media in Solomon Islands is a cut above the average regional media industry.

The event was organized by the USP Journalism Programme given USP’s critical role in nurturing future journalists to meet the needs of the region.


Share This