ANZAC Day Remembrance Service.


Wreath laying by Prime Minister Hon. Manasseh Sogavare

Prime Minister Hon. Manasseh Sogavare MP was among guests commemorating this year’s ANZAC Day Service of Remembrance.

The National Day of Remembrance Service this morning took place at the Central Police Station Cenotaph, Honiara.

April 25th was officially named ANZAC Day in 1916 to remember Australian and New Zealand Army Corps who fought bravely alongside allied expedition under fierce resistance and suffered heavy casualties during the Galipoli war, a campaign that left behind a powerful legacy.

ANZAC Day also includes the remembrance of all Australians and New Zealanders killed in military operations.

ANZAC Day photo

This morning’s program included a Prayer, Laying of Wreaths, Last Post, Catafalque Party, a two minutes silence and the National Anthems of Solomon Islands, New Zealand and Australia.

Addresses were made by the Australian Head of Mission to Solomon Islands, His Excellency Mr. Rod Hilton, New Zealand Head of Mission His Excellency Mr. Jonathan Schwass and Air Commodore David Hombsch, senior military representative.

The more than 20 Australian and New Zealand Defence Force Personnel currently deployed to Solomon Islands under the Solomons International Assistance Force, SIAF (an SIG invitation), ANZACs who served under RAMSI, Defence Forces of all other nations serving in Solomon Islands and WW2 heroic Solomon Islanders  were also honored.

Prime Minister Hon. Manasseh Sogavare, Deputy Prime Minister Hon. Manasseh Maelanga, Chief Justice Sir Albert Palmer, Speaker of the National Parliament Hon. John Patterson Oti, Police Minister Hon. Anthony Veke, Permanent Secretaries, members of the Armed Forces, members of the diplomatic Corps and members of the public took part in this morning’s ANZAC Day commemoration.



Share This