Only two women elected

Fred Tuki (left) and Lanelle Tanangada (Right).

Two women have been elected out of the twenty-five who have contested in the 2019 general election.

They are Lanelle Tanangada of Gizo/Kolombangara and Freda Tuki of VATUD constituencies who were members of the tenth Parliament.

There were no new female candidates elected out of the other twenty three who had contested in the 2019 general election.

A total of 25 female candidates contested in 21 constituencies in the 2019 general elections.

Three women contested the Central Honiara constituency, two each in North Guadalcanal and Vatud and one each for Gizo/Kolombangara, Shortlands, Gela, Central Guadalcanal, West Guadalcanal, Northwest Guadalcanal, Temotu Pele, Central Kwara’ae, Malaita Outer Islands, North Malaita, West Kwaio, East Honiara, West Honiara, West Makira, East Makira, Maringe Kokota, North Choiseul and South Choiseul Constituencies.


Share This