National Parliament of Solomon Islands building. Photo credit: Synexe.

National Parliament of Solomon Islands building. Photo credit: Synexe.

The 10th Parliament will commence its first sitting tomorrow, Wednesday 17th December.

His Excellency, the Governor General, Sir Frank Kabui, had signed the proclamation of the sitting date in accordance with section 72 (1) of the Constitution.

The Parliament reports, this first sitting is important as members of the 10th Parliament will take their Oaths and elect their Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively.

Meanwhile, nominations for the Speaker was opened on Sunday 14th December and closed this afternoon.

It is understood, the Speaker’s post has been occupied by male Speakers since independence in 1978.

The National Parliament has received two nominations for the post of the speaker of National parliament at the close of the nomination period at 4.30pm this afternoon.

Philemon Loe from the Parliament’s media unit reports.

“Taeasi Sanga is one of the candidates nominated by Hon. Jeremiah Manele who is the Opposition Leader and also Hon. Manasseh Maelanga. Another candidate for the Speaker’s post is Ajilon Jasper Nasiu nominated by Hon. Douglas Ete. For the Deputy Speaker Hon. David Tome Wanediofa is being nominated by Hon. Jeremiah Manele as well as Hon. Manasseh Maelanga and another candidate also for the Deputy Speaker’s post is Hon. John Moffat Fugui the MP for Central Honiara, being nominated by Hon. Stanley Festus Sofu.”

Share This