Registrar of the Political Parties Commission Calvin Ziru. Photo credit: SIBC.

Registrar of the Political Parties Commission Calvin Ziru. Photo credit: SIBC.

Registered Political Parties are the only parties that will be able to form a coalition for the next government as prescribed by the Political Parties Integrity Act, says the Political Parties Commission.

Registrar of Political Parties Calvin Ziru told a media conference this afternoon, there are twelve registered parties, and these are the parties who can form the next government.

“The 12 political parties that are registered under the Political Parties Integrity Act are the parties and the only parties that are able to contest and put forward candidates as they have done so under the new law and these are the political parties that will be moving towards formations of coalitions that at least they will be the parties that will form government.”

Meanwhile, the Political Parties Registrar says the increasing discussion of political parties around the coalition of government is an encouragement for the Political Parties Commission.

“Increasing discussions by the 12 political parties around the formations of government and this is for your sake I think that should be seen as encouraging for the voters.”

Political Parties who have registered include: the Solomon Islands Party for Rural Advancement; Direct Development Party; Kadere Party; United Democratic Party; People’s Progressive Party; National Transformation Party of Solomon Islands; People’s Alliance Party.

The other registered parties are Solomon Islands Pan-Melanesia Congress Party; Democratic Alliance Party; Solomon Islands People First Party; Youth Owned Urban Party, and the New Nation Party.

Share This