29 petition cases filed


National Parliament.

The High Court has received a total of twenty nine petition cases as deadline to file election petitions closed at 3:30pm yesterday  afternoon.

High Court Registry confirmed, petitions were filed against Hon. Prime Minister, Manasseh Sogavare ,Rex Ramofafia, Freda Tuki, Braddley Tovusia, Matthew Wale, Fredrick Kologeto, Derick Manuari and Stanley Festus Sofu.

Others include, Namson Tran, Robertson Galokale, Makario Tagini, Sam Iduri, Moffat Fugui, Peter Shanel Angovaka, Douglas Ete, Deputy Prime Minister John Maneniaru, Danny Philip, Silas Tausinga and Lannielle Tanangada.

Others are Hon. Dickson Mua, Peter Kenilorea Junior, Senley Filualea, Anthony Veke, Manasseh Maelanga, Jackson Fiulaua, Titus Fika, Jamie Vokia, Augustine Auga, and Batholomew Parapolo.

The High Court says, the cases are listed for mention 20 days after they were filed.

Meanwhile, Transparency Solomon Islands said the number of election petition raised against the 29 winning candidates confirmed that the Solomon Islands Electoral Commission lost control of the 2019 National General Election.

Transparency Solomon Islands believed it is the most corruptly run election where there is no oversight both from the Chief Electoral Officer and Solomon Islands Electoral Commission.

It said the consequences of removing the serial numbers from ballot paper was never properly considered and based on CDF distribution than running a free and fair election.


Share This