SIEC publishes final Voter List

Chief Electoral Officer Mose Saitala announced the release of the final Voter List yesterday.

The Solomon Islands Electoral Commission announced yesterday it has approved the final Voter List for the upcoming National General

Chief Electoral Officer Mose Saitala confirmed, there is an overall increase of electors for this year compared to 2014 when the list was
first created.

“The overall list of electors has increased from 287,567 registered voters in 2014 to 359,690 for the upcoming general elections in 2019,
this year. That is an increase of 72,123 voters during the last four and half years since the list of electors or the electoral roll was first developed in 2014”.

He said based on the data, two of the three Honiara-based Constituencies have the highest number of voters on the final list.

“With Central Honiara on 15,987 and East Honiara with 15,446. A total of eight Constituencies have 10,000 or more registered voters.

“The highest increase from 2014 to 2019 is West Honiara, increasing by , from 5,735 to 10,643; that is a percentage increase of 85.58 percent”.

The Chief Electoral Officer said two constituencies have decreased in numbers from 2014 to 2019 and they are South New Georgia/Rendova Tetepari decreasing by 376 voters and Small Malaita by 472 voters.

He added, these are due to population shifts and cross border registrations.

Meanwhile, almost fifty percent of registered voters for this year’s National General Elections are female registrants compared to fifty-one percent
of male registrants.

The Solomon Islands Electoral Commission revealed the figures this afternoon while annoucing the final list of electors for the coming election.

Chief Electoral Officer Mose Saitala said almost fifty percent of the registrants are female.

“In terms of the 2019 electoral roll now 174,587 registered voters are female; that is 48.54 percent and 185,103 are male registrants.
That represents a 51.46 percent so this is the demarcations of the total number of 359,690 voters into genders”.

Meanwhile, Mr Saitala said the next major task now is to determine the number of polling stations across constituencies in the country.

“Now that the final list has been completed the next biggest focus for us now is really the determinations of the polling stations.

Because there is a massive increase in terms of the number of voters by 72,123, obviously the number of polling stations have to increase that much. As you may already know we have a criteria of determining voting polling stations which is usually based on a number of five hundred voters per polling station”.

He said while most of the 856 polling stations used in 2014 would be used again, 400 additional polling stations will be established around the country this year.

By: Rickson J Bau

Share This