Tenth Parliament to dissolve midnight tonight


Inside the Solomon Islands National Parliament

The tenth Parliament will dissolve at mid-night tonight.

It will stand Sine Die until the next Parliament is convened next year.

Prime Minister Rick Houenipwela introduced the Motion of Sine Die last Friday to end the 10th Parliament.

During its life a total of 25 pieces of legislation have been passed into Acts of Parliament.

In 2015 four Acts of Parliament have been passed and they were the Fisheries Management Act, the 2016 Appropriation Act 2015, the 2015 Supplementary Appropriation Act and the 2015 Appropriation Act.

Another four pieces of legislation passed in 2016 includes the Valuers (Amendment) Act 2016, the Police and Transport Legislation (Amendment) Act 2016, the Penal Code (Amendment) (Sexual Offences) Act and the Lands and Titles (Amendment) Act 2016.

Meanwhile, a total of eight pieces of legislation were enacted in 2017. SIBC’s Leni Dalavera explained.

“The Acts passed by the tenth Parliament in 2017 includes the Adoption (Amendment) Act 2017; Child and Family Welfare Act 2017, Land Surveyors Act 2017; Pacific Games 2023 Act 2017; Solomon Islands Tertiary Education and Skills Authority Act 2017; Town and Country Planning (Amendment) Act 2017; Wild Life Protection and Management (Amendment) Act 2017 and the Ombudsman Act 2017”.

He also outlined legislation passed by the Tenth House for this year.

“In 2018, Acts passed were the Anti-Corruption Act 2018; Strata Titles Act 2018; Whistle Blowers Protection Act 2018; 2018 Appropriation Act 2018; Constitution (Amendment) (Electoral Reform) Act 2018; Goods Tax (Amendment) Act 2018; Electoral Act 2018; Solomon Islands Maritime Authority Act 2018 and the 2018 Supplementary Appropriation Act 2018”.

The 2019 Appropriation Act 2018 was also among legislation enacted by the 10th Parliament this month.

The House has survived two Prime Ministers and a couple of minister reshuffles during the past four years.

A total of 19 Members of Parliament have so far contributed to Prime Minister Rick Houenipwela’s motion of Sine Die since last Friday.

SIBC Online understands, debate on the motion continues when this article bulletin went to publish.

By: Rickson J Bau

Share This