Two Gov’t Ministers axed; two new ones sworn in.

New minister for education, Hon. Lanel Tanagada taking her oath at the government house today.

Two Government Ministers have been sacked and officially replaced with two backbenchers this morning at the Government House as they took their oaths.

The Government Communication Unit (GCU) confirmed to SIBC News today.

It says, the Minister of Lands, Housing and Survey Hon. William Marau and Minister of Agriculture and Livestock Hon. Augustine Auga were removed from their respective ministerial portfolios.

It adds, the former ministers are expected to take up their new roles as Chairpersons of Government Committees to be announced later.

Meanwhile, it says former Education Minister and MP for Temotu Nende Hon. Commins Mewa was sworn-in as the new Minister for Forest and Research replacing former Minister Ishmael Avui, who was sworn-in as the new Minister for Lands, Housing and Survey, replacing former Minister William Bradford Marau.

The MP for North Malaita Hon. Senley Levi Filualea was sworn-in as the new Minister for Agriculture and Livestock, replacing former Minister Augustine Auga.

And the MP for Gizo-Kolombangara Hon. Lanelle Tanangada was sworn-in as the new Minister for Education and Human Resources Development, replacing former Minister Commins Mewa.

The Government Communication Unit clarifies, the changes were made by Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare following internal consultations with the respective Ministers in recent days.

And these changes have no political implications on the solidarity of the DCGA in its commitment to deliver its policy priorities to the citizens.

Share This